Department Home Atmospheric Science Geology and Geophysics Geography

Geology and Geophysics

Faculty Profiles

George Asquith

George B. Asquith, Professor, Joe Pevehouse Chair Emeritus
Carbonate petrology and petrophysics.

 
Cal Barnes

Calvin G. Barnes, Professor
Igneous petrology and geochemistry.

James Barrick

James E. Barrick, Professor
Micropaleontology and biostratigraphy.

 
Sankar Chatterjee

Sankar Chatterjee, Horn Professor
Systematics of Mesozoic vertebrates, origin, evolution and functional anatomy, ontology and phylogeny of birds, plate tectonics and paleobiogeography, KT mass extiction, Shiva Crater and Deccan volcanism, evolution of Archosaur brain and intelligence.

 
Harold Gurrola

Harold Gurrola, Associate Professor
Geophysics and seismology.

 
Callum Hetherington

Callum J. Hetherington, Associate Professor
Mineralogy and geochemistry.

 
Juske Horita

Juske Horita, Professor
Stable isotope geochemistry.

 
Haraldur Karlsson

Haraldur R. Karlsson, Associate Professor
Stable isotope geochemistry.

 
Thomas Lehman

Thomas L. Lehman, Professor
Clastic sedimentology.

 
David Leverington

David Leverington, Associate Professor and Undergaduate Advisor
Remote sensing and planetary science.

 
Seiichi Nagihara

Seiichi Nagihara, Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor
Geophysics, geographic information systems.

 
Moira Ridley

Moira K. Ridley, Professor
Aqueous geochemistry.

 
Dustin Sweet

Dustin Sweet, Assistant Professor
Sedimentology and stratigraphy.

 
Paul Sylvester

Paul Sylvester, Pevehouse Chair
Mineral geochemistry and geochronology of sedimentary systems.

 
Aaron Yoshinobu

Aaron S. Yoshinobu, Professor
Structural geology and tectonics.

 

Adjunct Faculty

Name / Title Email Office / Phone

William Asquith, Research Hydrogeologist & Adjunct Scientist Hydrogeology.


wasquith@usgs.gov

213 Science Building
(806) 742-3129

Melanie Barnes, Senior Research Associate
Igneous Petrology & Geochemistry, Laser-Ablation ICP Mass Spectrometry


melanie.barnes@ttu.edu

217 Science Building
(806) 928-1098

David Bish, Haydn Murray Chair of Applied Clay Minerology, Indiana University, Minerology


bish@indiana.edu

(812) 855-2039

Peter Holterhoff, Senior Geologic Advisor, Hess Corporation.
Carbonate Petrology, Sedimentology, Sequence Stratigraphy


peter.holderhoff@ttu.edu

(713) 609-5000

Kenneth S. Johnson, Assistant Professor, Geology & Geochemistry, University of Houston. Igneous Petrology


johnsonk@uhd.edu

(713) 222-5375

Gregory P. McGovern, Instructor. West Texas A&M University
Organometallic Synthesis, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance


gmcgovern@wtamu.edu

(806) 651-8043

Nathan McSloy, Adjunct Scientist. U.S. Geological Survey
Hydrology


njmcslow@usgs.gov

(806) 742-3129

Victor Polyak, Senior Research Scientist, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, University of New Mexico. Speleology


polyak@unm.edu

(505) 277-4444

Veniamin B. Polyakov, Leading Scientist, Insitute of Experimental Minerology RAS, Russia. Geochemistry


polyakov@iem.ac.ru

Erik Rasmussen, Rasmussen Systems LLC
Severe Storm Analysis


rasm1@rasmsys.com

(806) 834-6870

John Stout, Physical Scientist, USDA Wind Erosion & Water Conservation Research Unit. Aeolian Geomorphology


john.stout@ars.usda.gov

(806) 723-5239

Joint Faculty

Name / Title Email Office / Phone

Rainwater, Ken, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering
Water Resources Management, Groundwater Hydrology


ken.rainwater@ttu.edu

203-D Civil Engineering(806) 834-7775

Zhou, Hua-wei, Professor, University of Houston
Geophysics


hzhou@uh.edu

(713) 743-3440